中国人 ▼

有损压缩

有损压缩是图像、视频、音频和其他媒体格式用来减小特定文件大小的一种方法。它通过丢弃可能被忽视的数据来简化文件内容,从而实现更有效的编码,从而减少最终保存文件的大小。

当然,与有损压缩相反的是无损压缩,其中使用不会导致任何细节丢失的方法来压缩文件数据。我们进入这里是无损压缩

你为什么要关心我在这里说的文件大小。文件大小越小意味着存储文件所需的存储空间就越少,如果您需要上传或通过电子邮件发送文件,则需要的带宽也就越少。

有损图像压缩

有损文件压缩的​​一个例子是众所周知的图像格式JPEG 。当图像以这种格式保存时,图像的相似部分会被识别并以不重复的方式存储,从而在过程中节省大量空间。在任何彩色摄影图像中都可以节省大量成本,因为有数千种颜色,其中许多颜色非常相似,并且其中一些相似的颜色可以被丢弃。

为了比较使用此过程可以将图像文件压缩多少,我们可以检查用普通 1200 万像素相机拍摄的照片,其像素分辨率约为 4080x3072。保存为 JPEG 时,此文件的大小约为2mb ,如果将此文件保存为原始、未压缩的 24 位 RGB 格式,则文件大小约为36Mb

这里我们有一个以不同压缩设置保存的图像。第一个图像以最佳质量的默认设置保存,第二个图像以 50% 保存,最终图像以 90% 保存,从而产生最小的文件大小。您看得出来差别吗?对于某些照片图像,很难看出质量下降,这证明了压缩算法的真正性能。

具有低压缩设置的雨链 (517Kb)

低压缩设置的雨链 (517Kb)

具有 50% 压缩设置的相同图像 (140Kb)

具有 50% 压缩设置的相同图像 (140Kb)

具有 90% 压缩设置的相同图像 (46Kb)

具有 90% 压缩设置的相同图像 (46Kb)

虽然使用 JPEG 压缩方法压缩照片会产生很好的结果,但对于其他类型的图像,您可能无法获得相同的结果。特别是,包含清晰边缘或接近的对比色的图像往往看起来更糟。这些图像的示例(例如公司徽标和视频游戏艺术)是一些不能很好地使用有损压缩方法(如 JPEG)的图像类型。

这里有一幅电子游戏像素艺术作品;左侧的原始图像保存为 PNG,采用无损压缩。第二幅图像保存为 JPEG,使用 50% 压缩设置,右侧图像使用 90% 压缩设置。我们不仅看到清晰对比的颜色模糊/渗色,导致原始图像的呈现效果明显较差,而且 JPEG 版本的文件大小实际上比原始 PNG 图像大得多。这说明了为您正在创建的图像类型选择正确的文件格式的重要性。基于有损压缩的格式(例如 JPEG)并不适合所有图像。

一些原始 PNG 格式的视频游戏艺术 (12Kb)

一些原始 PNG 格式的视频游戏艺术 (12Kb)

相同的游戏美术,50% 压缩设置 (55Kb)

相同的游戏美术,50% 压缩设置 (55Kb)

压缩设置为 90% 的同一款游戏图片(23Kb)

相同的游戏美术,90% 压缩设置 (23Kb)

有损音频压缩

对于音频文件,最常见的有损压缩方法是心理声学,其中分析声音文件中包含的音频,并删除人耳听不到的某些声音。这可以大大节省文件大小,而听众不会注意到任何质量损失。

以存储在光盘 (CD) 上的音频为例,可以了解节省空间的几种方法。典型的 CD 可以容纳 80 分钟的音频,相当于约700Mb的数据。为了确保最佳的聆听体验,这些音频以高质量的未压缩格式存储。

如果您将 80 分钟的音频转换为中等质量 (128kbps )MP3文件,生成的文件约为74Mb

有损视频压缩

电影文件格式(例如 MPEG)中使用的压缩技术将前面描述的 JPEG 文件的有损图像压缩带入逻辑下一步,即不仅删除每个帧的重复元素,而且删除帧的各个帧之间的重复序列。电影。如果以合理的压缩设置进行此级别的压缩,则视频文件的细节不会有明显损失。除了图像压缩之外,典型 MPEG 视频文件中的音频也使用 MP3 压缩进行压缩,从而使 MPEG 格式成为存储视频文件的最佳格式。

有关有损压缩的更多信息,请参阅本文这比我们在这里介绍的更详细。

© 2024 图像到Stl。将您的 PNG 和 JPG 文件转换为 3D STL 文件。

English ▼

Lossy Compression

Lossy compression is a method used by image, video, audio, and other media formats as a means to reduce the size of a particular file. It does this by discarding data that would likely go unnoticed in order to simplify the file content, which enables more efficient encoding and thus reduces the size of the final saved file.

The opposite of lossy compression is, of course, lossless compression, in which file data is compressed using methods that will not result in any loss of detail. We go into non-lossy compression here.

Why would you care about the file size I here you say. Smaller file sizes mean less storage space is needed to store the file, and less bandwidth is needed if you need to upload or email the file.

Lossy Image Compression

An example of lossy file compression is the well-known image format JPEG. When an image is saved in this format, similar parts of the image are identified and stored in a way that doesn't duplicate them, saving large amounts of space in the process. Considerable savings can be made within any color photographic image, as there are many thousands of colors, many of which are very similar, and some of these similar colors can be discarded.

To compare how much an image file can be compressed using this process, we can inspect a photo taken with an average 12-megapixel camera whose pixel resolution is around 4080x3072. Saved as a JPEG, this file comes in at around 2mb, If this file were saved in a raw, uncompressed 24-bit RGB format, the file size would be around 36Mb.

Here we have an image saved at different compression settings. The first image is saved at the default setting that maximizes quality, the second image at 50%, and the final image at 90%, resulting in the smallest file size. Can you spot the difference? With some photo images, it can be hard to see the reduction in quality, which is a testament to how good the compression algorithm really is.

A rain chain with a low compression setting (517Kb)

A rain chain with a low compression setting (517Kb)

The same image with a 50% compression setting (140Kb)

The same image with a 50% compression setting (140Kb)

The same image with a 90% compression setting (46Kb)

The same image with a 90% compression setting (46Kb)

While compressing photos using the JPEG compression method leads to great results, you may not get the same results for other types of images. In particular, images containing crisp edges or contrasting colors in close proximity tend to look worse. Examples of these images, such as company logos and video game art, are some of the image types that do not work well with lossy compression methods like JPEG.

Here we have a piece of videogame pixel art; the original image on the left is saved as a PNG, which utilizes lossless compression. The second image is saved as a JPEG using a 50% compression setting, with the image on the right using a 90% compression setting. Not only do we see blurring/bleeding together of the crisp and contrasting colors, leading to a visibly poorer representation of the original image, but the file sizes are actually much larger for the JPEG versions than the original PNG image. This illustrates the importance of choosing the correct file format for the type of image you are creating. Lossy compression-based formats, such as JPEG, are not suitable for all images.

Some video game art in its original PNG format (12Kb)

Some video game art in its original PNG format (12Kb)

The same game art with a 50% compression setting (55Kb)

The same game art with a 50% compression setting (55Kb)

The same game art with a 90% compression setting (23Kb)

The same game art with a 90% compression setting (23Kb)

Lossy Audio Compression

With audio files, the most common method of lossy compression is Psychoacoustics, in which audio contained within the sound file is analyzed and certain sounds that would not be audible to the human ear are removed. This can yield substantial savings in file sizes without the listener noticing any loss of quality.

An example of the kinds of savings to be made can be seen with audio stored on a compact disc (CD). A typical CD can hold 80 minutes of audio, amounting to around 700Mb of data. To ensure the greatest listening experience, this audio is stored in a high-quality, uncompressed format.

If you converted that 80 minutes of audio into a medium-quality (128kbps) MP3 file, the resulting file would be around 74Mb.

Lossy Video Compression

Compression techniques used within movie file formats such as MPEG take the lossy image compression described previously for JPEG files to the logical next step, which is to not only remove duplicate elements of each frame but also remove repeated sequences between the individual frames of the movie. This level of compression, if done at a reasonable compression setting, results in a video file with no noticeable loss in detail. Along with image compression, audio within a typical MPEG video file is compressed using MP3 compression, making the MPEG format optimal for storing video files.

For more information on lossy compression, please see this article which goes into greater detail than we have covered here.

© 2024 ImageToStl. Convert your PNG and JPG Files to 3D STL files.